some thoughts

Ben here. Just thinking about how the show went, and the reaction we got from people on Saturday night. We played at Clearwater, and things went really well. It was a blast to finally play our stuff for you guys, and I’m grateful to everyone that came out. It’s going to be a while before we’re super comfortable on stage, since we’re still working stuff out, but things sounded gewd.

Our friend Joel came out to the show, he’s one of the designers at the firm Paper Tower in Elgin. After the show, when I asked him how he thought it went, he said “Great man, I love your lyrics. Not many people can come into a place like this and talk about Jesus.” He paused, laughed, and said “Well, everyone CAN, just not many people DO.” I told him that it was my goal lyrically to speak that truth in a “non-cheeseball way” and he replied “Well, you’re accomplishing that”. That was a huge encouragement to me, because I believe that all of my lyrics, guitar riffs, Andy’s drum beats, Chris’s solos, and Rob’s bass jams come straight from the Spirit of God. In Him we live and move and have our being, and music is nothing different.

It really bothers me when bands make “Christian” a genre rather than a lifestyle, because it shows through. Christ is not cheesy, he is relevant. He is life and love and truth, and when people encounter this they aren’t turned away or offended, they are changed. Now, NOR’EASTER isn’t a “Christian” band, we’re a rock band. We’re a group of guys working out our faith with fear and trembling, hoping that the Spirit of the Lord can possibly use us to spread his truth and love. And my prayer every single day is that we would keep our hearts humble and willing to God, and that we would communicate his message in a sincere and honest way. The music is fun, and we’re glad people are liking it, but it’s from God. And if there is anything good in it, it’s from Him as well. Like Aaron Weiss said “The truth belongs to God, the mistakes are mine”. I guess that’s just what’s been on my mind lately, as well as where we’re headed. Keep us in your prayers!

“A certain ruler asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?” “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone. You know the commandments: ‘Do not commit adultery, do not murder, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honor your father and mother. “All these I have kept since I was a boy,” he said. When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was a man of great wealth. Jesus looked at him and said, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God! Indeed, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.” Those who heard this asked, “Who then can be saved?”Jesus replied, “What is impossible with men is possible with God.” Peter said to him, “We have left all we had to follow you!” “I tell you the truth,” Jesus said to them, “no one who has left home or wife or brothers or parents or children for the sake of the kingdom of God will fail to receive many times as much in this age and, in the age to come, eternal life.”” -Luke 18:18-30

-b

Comments
3 Responses to “some thoughts”
  1. Curtis says:

    Thanks for posting this. Unfortunately, because of those verses (which I read yesterday when I couldn’t sleep), I have decided to sell/give away my things, and I have withdrawn my support from ALL musicians who are on record labels that are owned and/or distributed by major companies. Sadly, mewithoutYou is one of them. I will not let them be my idols! I will not let those corporations and the government control my mind!

    -Curtis Bell

    P.S. Oh, did I mention that I’ve been paranoid the past couple of days?

  2. Nick Stavros says:

    Ben, youve got a heart of gold man. thats all Ive got…=)
    oh, and curtis, stay busy, and before you start making radical decisions, it may be best to ask for advice. love you!

Leave a comment